My Old Clothes Have Me Memorized

Thank goodness for that!

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Once, years ago, I was very slim. I could have pulled an old potato sack over my head, and I think it would have clung to me in an attractive way.

Now I have transformed to a body type that can only be called Rubenesque. I have a great deal of trouble fitting into new clothes, let alone potato sacks.

I love my old clothes. They have memorized every lump, bump, hump, and slump about me. I don’t need to stretch them. They have done that for me.

Like old friends or kindly lovers, old clothes accept you as you are. When I was a girl scout they taught us these words: “Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver and the other gold.”

All these years later, I can appreciate that!

--

--

Deborah Barchi

Deborah Barchi has recently retired from her career as a librarian and now has time to read, explore nature, and write poetry and essays.