My First Month on Medium

Deborah Barchi
3 min readFeb 24, 2020

What a newbie has learned in 30 days

Photo by AndriyKo Podilnyk on Unsplash

February, 2020 is coming to and end and so is my first full month writing on Medium. What an experience!

Medium might just as well be called Motivator. There is something about the ability which Medium gives to all writers, newbies and experts, that seems to break down barriers and encourage confidence, from the very first post.

With that said, there are certain technical aspects to publishing on Medium and its other associated publications that can be confusing at first, especially to a technologically-challenged person like me. It took me a while to understand what was meant by publishing something in draft form, as opposed to simply requesting “publish”. I struggled for a couple of weeks to understand this, especially when I wanted to publish some poems in Scribe.

The editor of Scribe, Thomas Gaudex, displayed what I can only describe as other-worldly patience with me as I bombarded him with emails, trying to understand how to submit something correctly to Scribe. I know to the average person, my ignorance would have been laughable, but Thomas never laughed (at least not so I could hear it!), and patiently guided me through the correct process. As a result, the poems I have published on Scribe have garnered me the most reads, claps, and highlights. Here’s a link to “Autobiography of a…

--

--

Deborah Barchi

Deborah Barchi has recently retired from her career as a librarian and now has time to read, explore nature, and write poetry and essays.