Deborah Barchi
1 min readSep 2, 2020

--

I think I have been waiting all my life to read this article! I have one of those faces which when at rest seems to be very, very serious. Even if all I’m thinking about is what to pick up at the grocery store!

And I also have a smile that people, even complete strangers, seem compelled to comment upon in a positive way. Your article helped me to see that both of my “faces” can sometimes be unintentionally misleading. No one other than ourselves can ever know fully what goes on behind our face.

And yes, seeing the side by side photos of people smiling/unsmiling did bring a smile to my face!

--

--

Deborah Barchi

Deborah Barchi has recently retired from her career as a librarian and now has time to read, explore nature, and write poetry and essays.