Deborah Barchi
Jan 22, 2021

--

I really enjoyed this. No, her poem wasn’t perfect, but her true earnestness and desire to reach out to our troubled nation were exemplary and worthy of our praise and sincere support.

I loved seeing such a talented young woman speak with such sincerity and skill. I would have been terrified! Is her poem a favorite of mine, one I will read over and over and try to memorize? No. But that in no way takes away from her accomplishment or her message.

I appreciate your taking the time to point out the subjectivity of poetry which is always interpreted and appreciated (or not) through the specific heart and mind of each reader.

--

--

Deborah Barchi

Deborah Barchi has recently retired from her career as a librarian and now has time to read, explore nature, and write poetry and essays.