--

I love this article for many reasons. About a year into my recent retirement, I found I was bored and restless. I finally followed up on taking a course through our local lifelong learning collaborative. I felt so energized again. Like my brain had received a tingling and enlivening jolt!

Just one suggestion if you ever write another article on this subject. Please be sure to mention local libraries as a source, not just for good books, but for a plethora of classes, lectures, and multi-week programs that are all free! As a retired librarian, I have seen first hand how excited seniors (and eager learners of all ages) become when they take one of the many free courses offered at their local library!

--

--

Deborah Barchi

Deborah Barchi has recently retired from her career as a librarian and now has time to read, explore nature, and write poetry and essays.