Deborah Barchi
Jan 16, 2021

--

I am glad you have those wonderful memories of Golden Acres, Gill. When I was a child our house, built by my father, was new on the street, the only house on the street for several years. Vacant lots with trees and tangled growth were there for my brother and I to explore. I pretended I was exploring a jungle, and felt very brave and bold!

As an adult, when I see meadows now, I just want to let my eyes and my senses exalt in their beauty and hope they will continue unchanged. But when I see them ripped up to make room for 20 homes of cookie cutter design, I wonder where all the wild creatures will go. The natural world is steadily disappearing, and I feel so sad.

--

--

Deborah Barchi

Deborah Barchi has recently retired from her career as a librarian and now has time to read, explore nature, and write poetry and essays.