Hurricane Force Winds

Striving to adjust

Deborah Barchi
1 min readAug 22, 2021
Photo by Marcus Woodbridge on Unsplash

Hurricane force winds
A battering ram of rain
Life makes adjustments.

I am typing this in my little attic office as gusty winds rattle the windows and rain sluices down the drains. Yet this is the not the hurricane many of us were prepared to battle.

Within a few anxious hours, hurricane Henri has been downgraded to a tropical storm in my little coastal state. Within a few more hours it will probably be downgraded again to a plain, garden-variety rain storm, of no particular distinction.

Should I admit it? I do feel just a smidgen of disappointment. Wild weather can certainly make for an exciting change from the sedate, somnolent days of late August.

But I am nothing if not a realist, and I know hurricanes can be horrific for those unfortunate enough to be sucked into their violent vortex.

In the natural world there is suffering and survival. There is sudden death. Miraculous near misses . A stumble and a flutter to regain balance. An intuitive, and not always successful striving to make life adjustments.

I know I am fortunate today that Henri passed me by.

--

--

Deborah Barchi

Deborah Barchi has recently retired from her career as a librarian and now has time to read, explore nature, and write poetry and essays.