Deborah Barchi
1 min readAug 13, 2020

--

A few years ago I went to see a movie about Beatlemania (I think produced by Ron Howard) that showed scenes of hysterical girls screaming like they were being tortured, sobbing, and fainting. After just a few moments I found my well-modulated heart start to pound, my hands start to shake, and a shriek trying to force its way out of my 60-something mouth. I became 14 again and nearly insane with my passion for Paul McCartney!

My 30- something son sat beside me, staring at me in astonishment. Was this his serene, normally unruffled mother? But the response was visceral, as it always will be when I see those beautiful boys, THE FAB FOUR, singing their hearts out to young girls too hysterical to hear a word of it!

Glad you got to see them LIVE, Roz!

--

--

Deborah Barchi

Deborah Barchi has recently retired from her career as a librarian and now has time to read, explore nature, and write poetry and essays.